Association announces Sustainable Leadership Award winners

The Portland Cement Association has announced Sustainable Leadership Award winners for 2008. The awards identified local leaders in eight cities across the nation who enacted policies or completed projects that promoted sustainable development through the use of concrete and other cement-based products.

The winners are: Richard J. Daley, mayor, and Sadhu Aufochs Johnston, chief environmental officer, mayor’s office, City of Chicago, Ill.; Department of Street Services, City of Dallas, Texas; Brad Reed, inspection coordinator, City of Lubbock, Texas; Dennis C. Kilfoil, executive director, Marion County Housing Authority, Salem, Ore.; Najib Fares, PE, infrastructure manager, Transportation & Public Works Department, City of Fort Worth, Texas; Peggy J. Dunn, mayor, and Joe C. Johnson, director of public works, Leawood, Kan.; Kurtis J. Grassett, director of public works, Hancock, N.H.; and Elaine M. Scruggs, mayor, Horatio Skeete, deputy city manager, and Cathy Colbath, transit administrator, City of Glendale, Ariz.

Got more questions about your project?

  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: jpeg, jpg, gif, png, pdf, Max. file size: 50 MB.
      Allowed formats: jpeg, jpg, gif, png, pdf
    • How would you like us to respond?

    • Note: Some questions will be published anonymously with their answers at the end of this story to share with other readers.