ACI Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards Launches Self-Nomination Option for 2023

ACI Excellence in Concrete Construction AwardsIn an effort to expand project nominations to the American Concrete Institute’s prestigious Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards to a broader audience, the Institute has introduced a new self-nomination option to make it easier for companies and organizations to achieve recognition for their work. Entries for the 2023 ACI Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards are due by Saturday, April 29th, 2023. To self-nominate a project, please visit

Historically, any concrete project that has won an ACI chapter award is automatically considered for the Excellence Awards. Other projects can also be nominated by ACI chapter officials or an ACI international partner. However, for companies or organizations that do not have an ACI chapter or partner award program available in their area, self-nomination is a solution. This option has a non-refundable $500 nomination fee that is required and helps cover administrative costs.

“This year again, ACI’s Excellence in Concrete Construction awards encourages self-nominations to promote the very best uses of concrete. In keeping with our tagline, Always Advancing, ACI continues to enhance the awards program to recognize and celebrate exceptional concrete. And the Excellence in Concrete Construction awards also continues to grow – with a global reach, shown by many recent winners.” said Michael J. Paul, former Chair, and current Board Member of the International Project Awards Committee (IPAC).

Program growth

The growth of the program is highlighted by the steadily increasing number of submissions and nominations each year. Since 2015, the number of submissions has grown from 63 to 90+. With the new self-nomination option, it is expected to double. Within that timeframe, the number of judges multiplied by 6 and 2 more project categories were added.

ACI’s Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards recognize projects that exhibit innovation and complexity, as well as showcase the value provided by concrete as a material. There are seven award categories (Low-Rise Structures, Mid-Rise Structures, High-Rise Structures, Infrastructure, Repair and Restoration, Decorative Concrete and Flatwork). Each year, the ACI declares both first- and second-place winners in each of the seven categories. Additionally, they select one project to receive the overall Excellence Award. Judges for the Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards program are independent industry professionals who have technical expertise in each award category. The judges also have domestic and international project experience.

The annual awards gala, with announcement of winners, will take place during the Fall ACI Concrete Convention. The award ceremony will take place in Boston, Massachusetts, on Monday, Oct. 30, 2023. Learn more about the ACI Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards by visiting You can also contact Esther Beery directly at [email protected] or by phone +1.248.848.3162.

About The American Concrete Institute

The American Concrete Institute is a leading global authority for the development, dissemination, and adoption of its consensus-based standards, technical resources, and educational, training, & certification programs. Founded in 1904, ACI has its headquarters in Farmington Hills, Michigan, USA, with a regional office in Dubai, UAE, and resource centers in Southern California and Chicago/Midwest. Visit for additional information.

Got more questions about your project?

  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: jpeg, jpg, gif, png, pdf, Max. file size: 50 MB.
      Allowed formats: jpeg, jpg, gif, png, pdf
    • How would you like us to respond?

    • Note: Some questions will be published anonymously with their answers at the end of this story to share with other readers.