New Path for Submitting Projects to Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards

Excellence in Concrete - New Path for RecognitionThe American Concrete Institute– a leading authority and resource worldwide for the development, dissemination, and adoption of its consensus-based standards on concrete – has announced an additional path for project nomination for their 2022 Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards. They are now making it easier for companies and organizations to achieve recognition for their work.

Any concrete project that has won an ACI chapter award is automatically in consideration for the Excellence Awards. Other projects can also be up for nomination by ACI chapter officials or an ACI international partner. For companies or organizations that do not have an ACI chapter or partner award program available in their area, self-nomination is a solution. For this option, it requires a non-refundable $500 nomination fee. The fee helps cover administrative costs and allows the program to continue to grow. Entries for the 2022 ACI Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards are due Friday, April 29, 2022. To self-nominate a project, visit the ACI website.

“The option for self-nomination is a marvelous enhancement of the awards program, ensuring recognition for the best of what’s out there,” said Michael J. Paul, former Chair of the International Project Awards Committee (IPAC).

Nominated projects must be of new construction, substantially completed within 36 months of the submission deadline.

Requirements include:
  • A project description (300 words or fewer) that assists judges in their deliberations. This will also be for use in program and communication materials.
  • A description of how concrete was featured in the project (500 words or fewer). This portion of the application should address what makes the project either unique or complex.

ACI’s Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards recognize projects that exhibit innovation and complexity, as well as showcase the value provided by concrete as a material. There are seven award categories (Low-Rise Structures, Mid-Rise Structures, High-Rise Structures, Infrastructure, Repair and Restoration, Decorative Concrete and Flatwork). Each year, first- and second-place winners are declared in each of the seven categories, with one project selected to receive the overall Excellence Award. The ACI announces winners at an annual awards gala that takes place during the fall ACI Concrete Convention. Judges for the Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards program are independent industry professionals. This group has technical expertise in each award category, as well as domestic and international project experience.

“The Excellence in Concrete Construction Awards program continues to grow, and with emphasis shifting to industry-wide participation, it demonstrates that ACI lives up to its motto: ‘Always advancing,’” said Chris Forster, former Chapter Activities Committee and National Chapter Concrete Award Task Group Chair.

The annual awards gala, with announcement of winners, will take place during the fall ACI Concrete Convention in Dallas, Texas, on Monday, Oct. 24, 2022.

Learn more at

About The American Concrete Institute

The American Concrete Institute is a leading global authority for the development, dissemination, and adoption of its consensus-based standards, technical resources, and educational, training, & certification programs. Founded in 1904, ACI has its headquarters in Farmington Hills, Michigan, USA. The gorup has a regional office in Dubai, UAE. Additionally, there is a resource center in Southern California. Visit for further information.

Got more questions about your project?

  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: jpeg, jpg, gif, png, pdf, Max. file size: 50 MB.
      Allowed formats: jpeg, jpg, gif, png, pdf
    • How would you like us to respond?

    • Note: Some questions will be published anonymously with their answers at the end of this story to share with other readers.